Karlology

karlpilkington2Karl Pilkington came to popularity in 2001 when he joined The Ricky Gervais Show on Xfm as the radio show’s producer. Slowly, the hosts Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant transitioned the show to be entirely about Pilkington. This spawned a Guinness Book award-winning podcast and a cartoon TV show. Pilkington has since authored several books and starred in travel documentaries like An Idiot Abroad and The Moaning of Life.  Karlology: What I’ve Learnt So Far is Pilkington’s first book.

Ricky Gervais may react to Pilkington’s uncommon ideas as though it’s the craziest things he’s ever heard, but what’s remarkable about Pilkington’s point of view is that other people have said the same things. They’ve just said it better.

000aaa-break

“It is true that I may have (or, to anticipate, that I certainly have) a body that is very closely joined to me.  But nevertheless, on the one hand, I have a clear and distinct idea of myself, in so far as I am simply a thinking, non-extended thing; and on the other hand I have a distinct idea of body, in so far as this is simply an extended, non-thinking thing.  And accordingly, it is certain that I am really distinct from my body, and can exist without it.” -Descartes

“I’ve wondered if I’m in charge of the brain or if the brain is in charge of me.” -Karl Pilkington

000aaa-break

“The likelihood that life was created in an organic soup is the equivalent of discovering a computer on Mars and proclaiming it was randomly assembled in the Methane Sea.” -Rhawn Joseph, PhD

“I have a theory that the brain might have come from another planet where brains ruled.” -Karl Pilkington

000aaa-break

“Ignorance is bliss.” -Idiom

“It made me wonder if intelligent people need laughter…Maybe the brain doesn’t really like laughing.” -Karl Pilkington

000aaa-break

“To be is to be perceived.” -George Berkeley

“I said, ‘That doesn’t make me want to visit Scotland.’ He totally ignored me. The other two people didn’t flinch either. I was so ignored that I actually wondered if I’d said it. It’s like that question about a tree falling in the woods.” -Karl Pilkington

000aaa-break


Purchase Karlology by Karl Pilkington from Powell’s at this link and you’ll help fund Anglonerd.com with no extra cost to you. Thank you!


000aaa-break
jaimepond-ello
JAIME POND IS THE EDITOR OF ANGLONERD. SHE LIVES AND WORKS IN NYC. FOLLOW HER ON TWITTER.
Bibliography: Brainmind.com
Leave a Reply

